Why do you do it like that?

The other day, Tian gave me a banana which I proceeded to eat in front of him. I removed the peel altogether, discarded the peel, and just held the banana by the fruit as I ate it. Tian looked at me in disgust and asked, “why do you do it like that? You put your hand in contact with the part that you eat. Think about how much bacteria is being transferred to your food.”

That made me think, why DO I eat it like that? Back in the day, I’d just gradually peel a banana as I ate it, keeping germs off the banana, and keeping my fingers clean. I was pretty sure I only started eating bananas like this about a year ago, and I was pretty sure I had a good reason, but I didn’t remember it.

 

Can YOU figure out why, junior detectives???

One thought on “Why do you do it like that?

  1. Ryan says:

    You hate those starchy fibrous strands and when you peel the entire thing at the beginning they all come off

Leave a Reply

