Epic songs

I’m keeping track of songs that I consider “epic".” What is “epic”? Well, I can’t define it, but I know it when I hear it. They tend to be songs that make me think of someone on a heroic journey. I imagine Odysseus blasted this music when he was on his way home from the really far away Albertsons.

Rules of listening to epic music:

  • The volume must be turned up.

Songs that are in the “epic” list are scored in the following categories:

  • Epic-ness
  • Inspirational-ness
  • Elliot-ness (j/k)

That said, here’s my current list:

  • Smashing Pumpkins – Tonight, Tonight
    • Highly epic. Not so inspirational.
  • Nas – Hero
    • Moderately epic and highly inspirational
  • Akon – Beautiful
    • Moderately epic but not inspirational
  • Maino – All the Above
    • Moderately epic and highly inspirational

Can you add to my list?

No. But you can recommend things for me to add to my list.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Epic songs

  1. Ha, Elliot-ness. I like how “epic-ness” is only one of the categories required to be deemed “epic.”

    Black Eyed Peas – I Gotta Feeling

    Jay-Z – Empire State of Mind

  2. gabe garcia says:

    check out titus andronicus’ album “the monitor”

    its pretty epic in my opinion

Leave a Reply

