Soap Opera Time

swanscrossingWhat’s “soap opera time”? Is it what Pauly D shouts out to get everyone motivated to watch soap operas? Not quite!

Growing up with three sisters, I’ve seen my share of soap operas. So when Felicia from General Hospital got amnesia, I was there! And when Kendall from All My Children switched from looking like Sarah Michelle Gellar to some other girl, I was there! And when John Black from Days of our Lives had to use magic goggles to track down Marlena Evans who was being kidnapped by Stefano DeMira, I was there! And when Kristen threatened to burn down Graceland, I WAS THERE.

…but I was kinda confused. Days on the soap operas would seem to span weeks in reality, but at the same time, soap operas would always celebrate holidays on the same days we would in reality. The net effect was that it seemed like there was only a month between Independence Day and Thanksgiving. That, my friend, is what I have defined as “soap opera time.”

Did that bother anyone else? No? mmkay.

Oh, and if you’re wondering what the picture above is – it’s the only good picture I could find involving the show Swan’s Crossing.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Soap Opera Time

  1. Mike says:

    Soap opera tiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiime!

  2. T says:

    You know, at first I was offended about the implication that as one of your three sisters, I either co-erced you into watching soap operas, or simply watched them myself, leaving you a poor bystander of the fact. I could have sworn I NEVER watched those soap operas. That was Olivia! But then…. how did I know all those things happened?

    In other news, Maaaa-ma, loves Miiii-a…

Leave a Reply

