Adventures in Dieting—an intro post!

I’ve recently started a new diet + workout routine after reading Lyle McDonald’s Ultimate Diet 2.0 to get ready for beach season. Since then, I’ve had some interesting observations about dieting in general, so I thought I’d start blogging about it as well. Rather than start with a boring intro post framing what this diet’s about, I’m just going to jump right into my observations.

The following are two things that I’m doing for my diet that I never thought I’d do:

  1. Take pictures of myself shirtless in my bathroom. Now, if you’re a serious dieter or bodybuilder, this is actually a really legitimate thing to do to measure your progress. It’s recommended that you take a picture of yourself from different angles at the same time once a week so you can measure your progress. However, thanks to the recent activities of Greg Oden, Brett Favre, and a bunch of other creepy people who were important enough to end up on the news, it just feels dirty. I will not be posting any of these pictures on the Internet… but I’ll consider sending you a copy for the right price.
  2. Pee on a strip of paper to measure the ketone content of my urine. Part of my diet involves going into a state of ketosis where your body starts producing ketones from fatty acids due to the lack of glucose. One way to see if your body has entered ketosis is to pee onto ketosis strips. Now, the first time I read about ketostrips was from a friend’s dieting blog, and after reading it, I emailed him telling him that it was disgusting. I also read that there’s tons of variables (ketone concentration in the urine may vary due to muscles burning them up or being well hydrated), making the actual results of the test less interesting. However, the more I thought about it, the more curious I was, so I bought some.

And that’s that for my intro post. Next topic: dealing with hunger.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Dieting—an intro post!

  1. Mike L says:

    Can the used ketosis strips also be purchased from you for the right price?

Leave a Reply

