Dieting–a look back at Full House

250px-FullHouseLogoDo you remember the episode of Full House where DJ develops body image problems and decides to go on a crazy diet and exercise routine? She pretty much stops eating and instead exercises really frequently. Toward the end of the episode, she passes out on the exercise bike, and the moral of the story is that it’s okay to be fat.

Looking back, that episode really bothers me. DJ’s diet and workout routine were just really not thoughtful, and it makes the entire dieting community look bad. Here are my complaints:

  1. They make it seem like it’s bad that DJ passed out on the exercise bike. Is this actually a bad thing? I mean, I usually don’t pass out, but I’m usually pretty nauseated by the end of my workout (if I’m working out hard enough), and generally at the end of my dead lift sets, I will see stars or get tunnel vision. If you’re serious about lowering body fat (without eating disorders), that’s just what you do. DJ probably should’ve just lowered the intensity or got some water or something until she was used to the higher intensity workout. If body image is something she really cared about, maybe she should’ve just toughed it out.
  2. DJ was just doing stuff that didn’t make sense. Huge calorie deficit + exercise bike? I don’t even understand why someone would do that. I mean, I suppose it could work, but if I were to go on a huge calorie deficit and attempt lots of cardio, I’d probably do exercise bike in the sauna (to cut water weight) or just run outside for a better cardio/full body workout. I’d also be very prepared to feel miserable all the time and on the brink of passing out during the workout. And why was she eating frozen ice pops? (Like actual ice cubes, not flavored stuff). That’s not even filling. I mean, okay I can imagine that Dexatrim may not have been readily available back then (or at least to minors), but ice? That doesn’t make any sense.
  3. Oh let’s all blame genetics! Okay, so I don’t actually remember the ending of the episode, but I’d imagine that it went like this: Danny walks in and says “DJ, you’re beautiful on the inside.” Everybody hugs and while nobody notices, DJ grows up to have an eating disorder. I mean, I’d agree that it’s probably not healthy for a girl DJ’s age to be working out and dieting that hard, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not a legitimate goal to take fitness seriously and keep body fat low.

So yeah, it’s been about 20 years since I’ve actually seen that episode, so I probably got it all wrong, but uh… yeah I don’t know. The episode just bothered me.

And on that note, I’m just going to end this post. I actually wrote an additional paragraph, but it got a bit ranty, so I’ll just leave it here.

Tagged , , ,

3 thoughts on “Dieting–a look back at Full House

  1. Mike L says:

    But ya gotta admit it was a better representation of the dieting world than the Saved by the Bell dieting episode

  2. Al says:

    Oh is this the one where she’s so excited and she just can’t hide it? Hilarious!

  3. […] Of course, by the end, DJ learns to love herself unconditionally (which is the opposite of what this asshole learned from the episode, but that’s another […]

Leave a Reply

