My opinions on Occupy Wall Street

classic_occupy_wall_street_protest_signs_09So this Occupy Wall Street thing has started to become kind of a big deal, and recently, a lot of people have been expressing their strong opinions on what’s been going on. I’ve largely stayed quiet for two reasons:

  1. I didn’t have anything intelligent to say about it, probably because I didn’t really know anything about it.
  2. I don’t like getting into political discussions with people because I always end up raging all over the place.

But now that it’s had some time to mature, I thought I’d share my thoughts. What’s Occupy Wall Street to me? Well, for starters, it’s a bunch of people… standing around. Why? I’m not sure… and I don’t think they really understand why either… but I get that!

I totally get standing around and not understanding why. I grew up with 3 older sisters. Do you know what three older sisters liked to do on weekends? They liked to go to the mall and shop for clothes. I’d have to come along with them, and I’d just be standing around while they were in these stores, shopping for what seemed like hours, and I’d have no idea why I was there. And I’d be angry. Just like the Occupy Wall Streeters!

In fact, just a few years ago, when I visited San Francisco, my sisters thought it’d be a great idea to spend the last few hours they had in San Francisco with me shopping in the Marina district. For women’s clothing. So I stood there on the sidewalk, not really knowing why, and just kinda being angry!

I feel like this is the story of my life. Did you know that I played the violin for 9 years? I had private lessons, practiced daily, auditioned for regional orchestras, and you know what? I had no idea why I was doing it. After my parents stopped making me play the violin, I stopped playing altogether (it’s been 9 years!). I still have no idea why I was doing that. It was awful. And I’m still kinda angry.

So you know what, OWSers? Sometimes, I hear you guys saying crazy shit, and I’m like, “oh no, rly?” but sometimes, I get it! Rock on!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “My opinions on Occupy Wall Street

  1. T says:

    Haha. I can totally picture that! But i don’t remember that at all. I remember going to the mall sometimes, but I really don’t remember you being there – probably because you were standing somewhere being mad. And I remember going to the Marina, but I thought we went to eat Thai food. Selective memory!

Leave a Reply

