The pQCT machine

Today, I had the privilege of sticking an arm and a leg in a machine that looks like this:

Image

The entire time, I was thinking, “man, I hope this is the right machine, and I didn’t just stick a limb in their ‘automatic amputation machine’ which was for some reason designed to look identical to the pQCT scanner!”

Also, ever notice that you’re all relaxed and stuff until someone tells you to “hold still”? I was already holding still. Now I’m all nervous!

For those of you who are curious as to what a pQCT scanner is, it’s a time machine. My ankle and wrist have been transported back to the 1920’s where their bone density will be analyzed by a panel of British boffins. The results will be stored in a vault and opened in exactly 3 days from now.

Leave a Reply

